Trayvon Martin Could have Been My Brother

After reading about the Trayvon Martin story last week, it really hasn’t been sitting well with me.

Trayvon Martin was shot and killed back in February in his father’s gated community by neighborhood watch leader, George Zimmerman. He was only 17-years old.

Martin was an unarmed black child and only had a bag of skittles and Arizona Ice Tea on him.

This story touches me because it happens way too often. That kid could have been my cousin, my brother, my best friends. I just can’t. All I can do is continue to spread awareness. This child deserves justice. This just wasn’t another cop kills armed black kid story. This was a man who took upon himself to kill an unarmed kid, instead of waiting for the police, after he was instructed to do so.

Zimmerman currently hasn’t been arrested because he is saying that he shot Martin in self-defense.

There has been a lot of chatter online about whether Zimmerman’s self-defense case is actually legitimate.  Some people believe that he had every right to protect himself; others believe that he had no reason to take on the cop’s job.

My mom has 20 + years of criminal justice experience, she’s an NYPD cop who works in one of the roughest neighborhoods in NYC. My mom didn’t have to read any book or take a class to know what happened to that kid was a tragedy and what Zimmerman did was the epitome of a racially motivated attack.

I know what it’s like to be afraid to go into certain neighborhoods because I’m black. I know what it feels like to go into some high end retail store and be followed around by the white employees like I’m going to steal their overpriced items. Being black in America still means you’re a criminal by default for some folks. Trayvon Martin could have been my future nephew, or future son. I fear one day, if I were to ever bear a son, he must live everyday with the fear that some crazy lunatic will shoot him in cold blood because the perception America still holds on to when it comes to our black and brown babies.

There’s a petition going around on Change.org, started by Martin’s parents, to persecute Zimmerman for the murder of their son.

On the petition the parents describe their son:

Trayvon was our hero. At the age 9, Trayvon pulled his father from a burning kitchen, saving his life. He loved sports and horseback riding. At only 17 he had a bright future ahead of him with dreams of attending college and becoming an aviation mechanic. Now that’s all gone.

This is truly a heartbreaking case and I can’t even phantom what his family is going through. Trayvon Martin didn’t deserve to be shot down like an animal, and my thoughts and prayers go out to his family.

– See more at: http://madamenoire.com/146698/trayvon-martin-could-have-been-my-brother/#sthash.6Jkrw3tn.dpuf

Leave a Reply

